Casting Time: 1 action
                    Range: 500 ft
                    Components: V
                    Duration: Instantaneous
                    
                  
                  
                  
                  
                    You teleport to a location within range. You arrive at exactly the spot desired. It can be a place you can see, one you can visualize, or one you can describe by stating distance and direction, such as "200 feet straight downward" or "300 feet upward to the northwest at a 45-degree angle."
You can also teleport one willing creature. The creature must be within 5 feet of you when you teleport, and it teleports to a space within 5 feet of your destination space.
If you, the other creature, or both would arrive in a space occupied by a creature or completely filled by one or more objects, you and any creature traveling with you each take 4d6 Force damage, and the teleportation fails.                  
                                      
                        Verbal Component: 
                        Porta Dimensio                    
                        
                            Verbal Component (Alternative): 
                            From here to there, a distance far, I travel through this arcane door.                        
Classes: Bard, Sorcerer, Warlock, Wizard, Rogue
Domain: Travel, Trickery
Tags: Teleportation
Source: Player's Handbook (2024) (page 262)                  
                    View Dimension Door Spell Card
                    (New Window? )
                    
                    Return to Previous Page
                    
                    
                  
                  
  
                    
                                    
                    
                                    
                                                
                            Spell FAQs
                                
                                    
                                    
                                    
                                
                                
                                There are currenly no frequently asked questions about this spell. If you have a question, or need to know how the spell functions in the game (especially in relation to other spells, creatures and magic items), 
send us a message.
                                
                                    Submit a FAQ
                                
                                
                                    
                                    
                                    
                                
                                                         
                                                    
                            Other Planes and Effects
                            Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
                             
                                                        
                            
Underwater - Verbal Component
                            Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).